About the winery
The tour begins in a small museum which tells the story of the property, the family and the wines. A collection of early 20th century photographs of the Douro and documents record the history of the Quinta and the region. Visitors may choose between three vineyard walks which afford excellent views of the surrounding mountain vineyards, some with dry stone terraces built by hand in the 18th and 19th centuries. The visit includes the old lodge built in 1896, one of the most magnificent such structures in the Douro Valley. This vast vat and barrel cellar, with its extraordinarily complex roof-structure, has been used for over one hundred years to hold the ports from each harvest at the estate before they are taken downriver to Vila Nova de Gaia for further maturing. During the harvest, visitors can see the grapes being received at the winery and port being made in the lagares.
Learn more about Quinta do Bomfim and their facilities at: